Resilient Lands and Waters Initiative

Hawaii Priority Sites

Location: The three designated locations in Hawai‘i include: He‘eia, O‘ahu; West Maui; West Hawai‘i.

President Obama has recognized Hawai‘i as one of several locations from across the nation where successful partnerships are working to improve the climate resilience of landscapes and seascapes in the face of climate change. The Resilient Lands and Waters initiative is a key part of the Administration’s Climate and Natural Resources Priority Agenda, a comprehensive commitment across the Federal Government to support resilience of America’s vital natural resources. The Resilient Lands and Waters Initiative aims to demonstrate the benefits of landscape-scale approaches to conservation and management that contribute to climate resilience by building upon the existing collaborative inter-agency partnerships. With this new Presidential Initiative outlining a comprehensive commitment by the Federal Government to support the resilience of natural resources in the United States, these partnerships will be able to avail themselves of existing science, planning, and management expertise within the Department of Interior (DOI), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to support forward-looking conservation strategies which help address future stressors, such as changes in rainfall, drought, and sea-level rise.


Project partners:

Environmental Protection Agency

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration